PicMonkey, More Thank Just an Awesome Place to Make Free (or almost free) Book Covers

PicMonkeyIf you haven’t used PicMonkey, you haven’t lived. It’s way more than just a super-easy online editing tool. I have to admit, I didn’t know about PicMonkey when I made the cover for my wife’s book. I used Gimp. It is also free, but I had to download it and it’s not-super easy to use. There was a learning curve. With PicMonkey, you just upload a picture from your computer and you can begin adding cover text immediately. They have plenty of fonts in the free version and you can upgrade for $4.99 a month or $33.00 a year.

You don’t need to create an account, it’s literally as fast as you can click the edit button, upload your picture, and add the cover text.

sample cover

The sample at the right took me three minutes to create.  I just picked a photo from a backpacking trip and uploaded from my computer and added the text. I would increase the font size (another simple task and orient on the page for best visual appear.)

Beyond the simple editing, there is the PicMonkey blog which has all kinds of useful posts from tips on Facebook to visual marketing ideas. You have to scroll down to the bottom of the page to find the navigation links. Check it out and let me know what you think.

Keep on writing!

Tags: ,

About publishfree

Do you have a book you want to publish? As the author of A Handyman's Guide to Self-Publishing Your First Book For Free (or Almost Free) and this blog, Yes You Can Publish for Free, I have gathered free or inexpensive resources for authors just like you who are interested in publishing their books, but may not have the start up funds for the project. In my blog and book, I share simple and effective ways to publish and market your book on a shoestring budget. Copies of my book are available on Amazon and at Smashwords.

Leave a Reply

